“All the World’s a birthday cake….

….So take a piece, but not too much”

– George Harrison

 April 9th, 2011 

Day # 9,131 of my lovely and fortunate existence:

I sat up. yawned. rubbed my eyes. stood up. did my routine “rawrrrr” sound as I stretch and do some conglomeration of a yoga pose.

Then  in my head I hear:  “(na na na na na na) You say it’s your birthday It’s my birthday too–yeah!”

I instantly grin and do a little jig, which is cut short when my eyes behold NOT the expected beams of sunshine and flitting sparrows – but flakes of SNOW.

I stare at a select few flakes, hoping that my slight rage will melt them. Nothing.

So I cope. Its something I’m actually quite good at. Its just not something I feel that I should have to do on MY DAY. There are  few things in my life that I feel as strongly about now that I did at the age of 3, and April 9th is one of those.

Its a day where my mom gets out the birthday table cloth, hangs up the birthday banner on the wall, and stacks my gifts alongside the cake she finished while I was sleeping.  I miss those days.

But I still find every possible opportunity to shamelessly blurt out “It’s my birthday!!!!!!”

It was a great day. Carissa and I went to the Bijou Market, craft fair. It was so full of lovely creations of paper, fabric, antique metals, and glass. I nearly bought a lamp which the lamp shade was covered in worn, yellowed novel pages. I ended up buying some more of these adorable earrings. We have great memories of flea markets and craft fairs and I think it was just the thing we needed.

What’s the next best thing to do on a day solely devoted to ME? Eat cake of course. I had heard marvelous things about “Cupcake Chic” in Orem and I figured it was a perfect time to explore it. We bought a dozen and shared them amongst friends. Oh – and they are by far the BEST cake I have ever eaten in my life! ( ‘cept yours Ma’!)

Flavors? Coconut, Peanut Butter, Strawberry Vanilla, Red Velvet, and German Chocolate.

I also got an iPhone 3G S. I’m pretty happy about that. Now I’m one of those cool people on the AT&T ads.

I can physically feel this birthday.    25 .    That’s 1/4th of a century! Yikes. I think I better start writing up my bucket list!

I look at my hands. They look the same as though I was 15. And still no wrinkles.

Thanks for all the Birthday wishes, everyone!

3 thoughts on ““All the World’s a birthday cake….

  1. What a glorious day that was! I would have to speculate and say that i had far more fun on your birthday than i will have on mine. Best day ever in quite a while! I love you old lady and can’t wait for all the other spectacular birthdays to come!!

Leave a Reply

