“Great Bouncing Icebergs!”

Have you ever found yourself in the middle of a movie when you realize “This is far too scary to watch…..look away!” But you absolutely  for the life of you CANNOT tear your eyes from the screen?

I know this feeling all too well. Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer was my first movie to experience this. I was 2. The narrator, Sam the Snowman, was usually good at warning me when the abominable snow monster was approaching (which involved him shuddering and shielding himself with his umbrella). I had it down to a science when to grab my pillow, stuffed animal camel, and get us to the safety of the kitchen. There I would peek around the corner and continue to watch in terror – but just from a cautious distance.

You want to see for yourself? I’ve got a video. (Enjoy laughing at my bowl cut and pop-belly because I sure do.)

Its a tradition I’m not about to stop. I just watched it yesterday.  Deep down there’s a part of me that wants to hide under my blanket when I hear the bumble’s vicious roar.

I never realized until just the other day how much of a tool Santa is in that movie! He shuns Rudolph when he finds out his little disguise nose is in fact, false – AND in front of all his reindeer peers. Thus causing endless torment until he runs away and nearly dies several times. What seems like an eternity later, Rudolph finally returns home. Christmas is going to be cancelled – Oh NO! :

Santa: “Meh – oh hey Rudolph, long time no see….I’m too busy worrying about how to save Christmas ……*Rudolph’s nose keeps flashing in Santa’s face*……..”Rudolph please, would you stop – I mean, its just THAT nose of yours”….*Light blub goes off* – (I mean) That beautiful, wonderful nose!!!!!”

And the rest is history. And the moral of the story, children: Santa is a user.

(Okay- at least in this version he is…)

Happy Christmasing!

2 thoughts on ““Great Bouncing Icebergs!”

  1. I always found that movie to be a little perverse… especially the guy who licked his icepick, but I like the misfit song. I guess Mallory would always break into hysterical laughter at the part where it talks about the bumble bouncing. Also, I just about jumped into the screen to squish. those. cheeks.

Leave a Reply

