Beauty Surrounds

“I thank you God for this most amazing day, for the leaping greenly spirits of trees, and for the blue dream of sky and for everything which is natural,  which is infinite, which is yes.

– E. E. Cummings

I love the smeared, brush stroke appearance of whispy clouds…maybe God has a paintbrush.

Drops of morning dew on grass make me think something magical happened overnight.

Just some scattered bits of this past week:

  • I’ve had a reawakening regarding the Beatles. My awesome co-worker, Kaye lent me her complete Beatles anthology a few weeks ago and all I can say is I’m in L-O-V-E. I’ve always thought they were a phenomenal lot of talent – but my adoration for their work has been taken to an entirely different level. I could see myself being one of those screaming girls in 1966..haha, maybe, maybe not? Gerorge Harrison has a big place in my heart for many reasons. He’s MY Beatle. “Do You Want to Know a Secret” is one of my favorite songs because its completely adorable and its his song. But if you want to hear my entire shpill about George- just ask.

 

  • Its really fun eating jelly beans in the dark….just fyi

 

  • After much pursuasion by my Mom, I’ve decided to try drinking what are called “green smoothies”. Its a combination of LOTS of spinach, kale, and whatever leafy greens you have – and then mix in whatever fruit you have. Believe it or not – they are yummy. I’ve actually found myself craving them.

 

  • I’ve decided these are the latest hobbies I’m attempting to pursue: Origami, natural architecture/Land art (look it up – its amazing!) welding, film photography and the harmonica. That should keep me busy for a while.

 

  • I’ve become a light junkie. I’m absolutely fascinated with light: sunrises, sunsets, moonlight, ect.. I love observing how it falls on objects, fills spaces, shines through things. This of course is all due to my constant viewing through my camera lens, and because of that, I think I’ve discovered a new definition of what I consider beauty. FOG is my latest obsession….picture this: a field in the woods with occasional trees scattered throughout it. Dawn is just about breaking, making the sky a sherbet-y color of pink and orange – and there’s a very thin veil of fog hovering over the ground. The sun pierces the fog and turns it into this glittering dance!  Maybe its just me – but when I saw that sight yesterday morning driving to work, I about died. It was so heavenly. I’ve discovered the term for that time of day is known as the “gloaming”. I just thought gloaming was the name of a Radiohead song – but it means: dusk, or the twilight hour.

 

  • Its mind boggling how amazing and clever the human body is, and how it knows how to heal itself. I recently pulled several muscles in my body. It was very painful for a while. But with a little time and TLC, I was good as new. I love my body!
2 thoughts on “Beauty Surrounds

  1. I love this post! I’m so glad you love your body, remember America the Beautiful? I’m really glad you’re doing good with your photography! I’m gonna have to try a green smoothie! I wish I could be with you experimenting with light! I love fog and moonlight! You would really love being at my house, we have a little less than an acre, with woods at the edge, and it’s on a hill, so we always get these amazing hot pink sunsets. And creepy deer silhouettes in the orchard across the street at night. I’m sending you an Email

  2. I love this post! I’m so glad you love your body, remember America the Beautiful? I’m really glad you’re doing good with your photography! I’m gonna have to try a green smoothie! I wish I could be with you experimenting with light! I love fog and moonlight! You would really love being at my house, we have a little less than an acre, with woods at the edge, and it’s on a hill, so we always get these amazing hot pink sunsets. And creepy deer silhouettes in the orchard across the street at night. I’m sending you an Email

Leave a Reply

